Unexpected Nostalgia

The last film I watched was a wonderful experience on many levels, not only as a result of the production itself but also how I found myself consumed by the narrative. Over a decade and a half later, I found myself replaying this particularly memorable film…
Music plays a huge role in every viewing experience. Whether a cinematic production, television show or advert; setting a particular mood to a scene is in part down to the subtle music choice. In the case of this particular film, it was the superb classical music that triggered my memory in the first place that caused myself to replay parts of the flickering scene subconsciously and unexpectedly playing in my mind. Although, I couldn’t quite put my finger on the title at first – my memories of the film were slowly flooding back. More and more elements begun to immerge clearly about the film, The whispering words ‘’yellow taffeta’’ and ‘’cherry-coloured twist’’ became stuck in my mind. Strange due to the fact that I have never uttered these words before in my life.
Later, more movie visuals came alive in my mind. The film in question opens with an all human cast set at Christmas time. The female protagonist assumes the role of a writer – and is, in fact, writing the story that is unfolding within the film. She begins to narrate the fairy tale, and whilst doing so the viewer is steered in a new direction by which the lead characters turn from humans to animated mice.
With this information, alongside the visual and audio elements unfolding within my memory, I took to the internet to use every factor I could remember within this film, to reveal its lost identity. At this point I found myself completely consumed by a production that I didn’t know the name of. Finally, I sighed in relief. I’d found it. I’d found the film I now feel I have seen a million times. It was the classic ‘’The Tailor of Gloucester’’ based on the novel written by Beatrix Potter released in late December of 1989.
Having the chance to re-experience the film in full, in 2017, ignited the nostalgia of being a small child viewing it for the first time, so long ago. The whole experience made me realise that’s it’s not simply the title that makes a movie memorable but it’s the subtle and unique narrative and cinematic techniques that cause art to get engraved into the back of your mind for years. Viewing The Tailor of Gloucester today shows how much has changed within the fast-paced industry, including how far animation has come whilst also showing that even the most subtle elements such as music and repetitive dialogue will be timelessly effective.

Leave a Reply

